Tags

, , , , ,

So here is my second cake decorating project. It’s the finale from the Course 2 Flowers and Cake Design class from the Wilton. We had to do a basketweave cake and I decided to do mine in chocolate. I guess I thought the color more resembled a real basket. hehe. I used a 47 tip for the basketweave and then used a 21 star tip to do a shell border. The basketweave was quite simple to do but time consuming. However, it was relaxing in a methodical way.  The roses were made out of royal icing with a 104 tip ahead of time and placed on the cake after it was decorated. I then used green royal icing with a 67 tip to pipe in leaves in the areas around the roses. I made the 2 tone roses by using this tutorial.

Chocolate Basket Weave Cake

Chocolate Basket Weave Cake

Chocolate Basket Weave Cake

Chocolate Basket Weave Cake

