Tags

I found this wonderful tutorial on how to make a very pretty rose cake on the I am Baker website. If you have a chance, this site is awesome for ideas and tutorials. I had just started my Wilton cake decorating classes and we were starting to learn about piping. I was eager to try new buttercream techniques and this rose cake seemed quite simple yet yielding an impressive result! The rose cake only needs one tip and it’s charmingly rustic so you don’t have to be completely precise with your piping. A very good cake for a any beginner cake decorator.

For my first rose cake I made a pink vanilla cake with Bavarian cream filling and pink vanilla buttercream. I used the 1M tip with a 4 layer 8″ cake.

Pink Rose Cake

Pink Rose Cake

For my second rose cake I decided to use chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream…mmmmmmmm. I also thought a taller cake would be more sophisticated so I use 6″ cakes that were taller resulting in a cake that was 5″ tall. I also experimented and used a 2D tip. The result were roses that were more closed. After using both, I preferred the way the 1M tip looked for the rose cake.

Chocolate Rose Cake

Chocolate Rose Cake

