Tags

,

After seeing the pretty buttercream petal cake created over at the Hungry Housewife I fell in love. This cake was so pretty and unique that I had to try it. The instructions looked pretty straightforward and something I could handle. This would have been my 4th decorated cake so I was looking for something not to complex. The techniques used were simple but time consuming.

First you have to color your batter so you get different shades of the same color. I decided to make my cake pink so I started off with white and went to a hot pink. My cake was going to be 6 layers. You should at this point color your icing to match your cake layers. I didn’t do 6 colors but 3-white, light pink and hot pink.

Ombre Cakes

Bake cakes in shades of the same color

Next I filled my cake and gave it a crumb coat. After the crumb coat I put the cake in the fridge for about 20 minutes to firm up a bit.

Crumb coat cake

Fill and crumb coat your cake

Next you take your buttercream put it in a piping bag and I used a 12 round tip. You make a mound on your cake and then immediately smoosh it with a straight spatula. Repeat to complete each row but make sure you line up your mounds with the one above. You may want to pipe vertical lines of mounds and smoosh all at once but I chose to do it row by row until you are done. Try to match up your icing colors with your cake colors so that when you slice your cake it will be consistent.

Buttercream Petal Cake

Pipe and smoosh

Pink Ombre Petal Cake

Finished Pink Ombre Petal Cake!

Pink Ombre Petal Cake

